Fibromyalgia Poems

Admitting my Struggle

It is so hard to admit to myself and to others that I’m struggling, for a multitude of reasons

I am battling my own guilt and doubt every second of every day

The guilt that I cannot do things I used to be able to do

The guilt that I have to rely on others to help with simple things

Nobody truly understands unless they themselves have a chronic illness

Others see me when I am able to do more

They see me acting normal and think I’m cured

But the sad fact of it is that I never know how I’m going to feel from minute to minute.

I don’t want to admit I’m struggling, I want to be better, I want to be able to do everything

I don’t want to be confined or held back, but I have to rest

I am still getting used to it and I know I need to be more honest with others when I’m struggling but I just hate it.

I know over time it will get easier but it’s going to be a long journey so please be patient with me

1 thought on “Admitting my Struggle”

Leave a comment