Fibromyalgia Poems

Fatigue: Hungover on Life

Fatigue is like being hungover

After a day of drunken mischief

Only without the drinking or the fun

This hangover never ends

Every day completely exhausted

Drained of energy head to toe

The headaches, the aches and the pains

Gang up and attack you as one

Leaving you hanging on a thread

It’s ready to snap any second

To pull you into the abyss of sleep

But you know it won’t help

You are hungover on life

Every day dragging you further in

Never able to fully enjoy everything

It knows how to slow you down

How to work around you

And attacks at the worst time

You just have to let it be

Exactly like a hangover

There’s no miracle cure

You just have to hope for the best

Try and work your way around it

And survive through it no matter what

Follow my blog on Facebook…

Follow my blog on Twitter…

Follow my blog on Pinterest…

4 thoughts on “Fatigue: Hungover on Life”

  1. Hi Bethan. love your website about Fibromyalgia, and this is a great explanation. It also explains why I don’t like drinking alcohol – because I am already “hungover”. You Nailed it!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Somebody asked me the other day how I was feeling and this is the only way I could describe that they would understand. I’m exactly the same, drinking only makes things worse!

      Like

Leave a comment