Fibromyalgia Poems

A Good Day Does Not Mean I’m Pain Free

I wake up and I’m still in pain

My body is stiff and aching

I get up feeling the pain ease a little

I don’t feel too bad today

I manage to shower and wash my hair

I may even be able to dry it today

It’s a very rare day indeed

Today is a good pain day

I do a few tasks I want to do

My arms start to hurt

My back still throbs, my legs ache

But I’m better than usual

On my good days I always overdo it

I think I’m suddenly invinsible

I can take on the world myself

I am miraculously cured

But no I need to remember

I have a chronic illness

It’s never all fun and games

There is a darker side to a good day

I know I might be in bed for days after

Yet still I do too much

I’m sick of saying no to everything

I want to push myself for once

Sometimes the consequences are worth it

I just want to feel slightly human

Just for one day

Is that too much to ask?

Follow my blog on Facebook…

Follow my blog on Twitter…

Follow my blog on Pinterest…

Leave a comment